thai flag small 
uk flag small


Bloomsbury International School Hatyai follows a British-derived curriculum which has been adapted to ensure it is suitable for international students and for local cultural needs and expectations. This is based on the National Curriculum for England, which is divided into 5 Key Stages. Academic targets defined in the National Curriculum of England are assessed at the end of each Key Stage.

The five Key Stages (please see question 4 below for further details):

EYFS Ages 2-4 Nursery and Reception
Key Stage 1 Ages 5-7 Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2 Ages 7-11 Years 3, 4, 5 and 6
Key Stage 3 Ages 11-14 Years 7, 8 and 9
Key Stage 4 Ages 14-16 Years 10 and 11
Key Stage 5 Ages 17-18 Years 12 and 13


The school chose this curriculum as its model through the widespread acknowledgement that British education at both school and university levels has achieved a worldwide reputation for high quality. Each year the United Kingdom welcomes large numbers of students from all over the world to study at its educational institutions. The number of international students studying in the British system is increasing annually. The number of international schools choosing to follow derivatives of the National Curriculum for England is also rising.


British educational traditions are well established, having been developed over centuries. The ensuing system is closely monitored by the UK Government and guided by outstanding institutions such as the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge and by some of the UKs famous independent schools, such Eton, Harrow and Winchester.

British education is renowned for its holistic approach. Learning is important, but not enough in itself. In the British system, students develop their potential to explore and discover the world around them, to think for themselves, form opinions, relate to others, develop their physical well-being through sport and health education, and gain leadership experience.

Parents who choose a school that follows a version of the National Curriculum of England can therefore be sure that wherever they go in the world, educational standards will be comparable to those in the UK, where Government monitoring of the curriculum guarantees quality. In a world where there is a bewildering array of schools teaching in English on the “international circuit”, the benchmark offered by a well developed national system is a source of confidence and stability in what might initially be an unfamiliar environment.

In addition to creatively adapting the National Curriculum for England, Bloomsbury’s educational assessments are also based on national standards from the UK. Bloomsbury’s 4-house system (please see please insert link to Houses page for further details) and extra-curricular programme are both intrinsically British in nature. Our textbooks, educational equipment/materials and software are sourced from the UK. Classroom management, pedagogy, lesson planning, displays of work, the 3-term year and age-related groups all follow best practice in education from the UK.

Frequently Asked Questions

QUESTION 1. Why is a strong command of English so important for Bloomsbury students?

QUESTION 2. Which International Curriculum does Bloomsbury International School Hatyai offer to its students?

QUESTION 3. What does the Cambridge International Examinations ('CIE') schools' curriculum consist of?

QUESTION 4. Please explain the relationship between the different examinations students at Bloomsbury take within the CIE curriculum.

QUESTION 5. Could you provide more information about Key stage 3?

QUESTION 6. Could you provide more information about Key stage 4?

QUESTION 7. What's the difference between the IGCSE and the GCSE?

QUESTION 8. Could you provide more information about Key stage 5?

QUESTION 9. In which countries do universities recognise CIE IGCSE and A Level qualifications?