The National Curriculum for England is divided into five Key Stages. Targets defined in the National Curriculum are assessed at the end of each Key Stage.

The five Key Stages:

Key Stage 1 Ages 5-7 Years 1 and 2
Key Stage 2 Ages 7-11 Years 3, 4, 5 and 6
Key Stage 3 Ages 11-14 Years 7, 8 and 9
Key Stage 4 Ages 14-16 Years 10 and 11
Key Stage 5 Ages 17-18 Years 12 and 13

British education at both school and university levels has achieved a worldwide reputation for quality. Each year the United Kingdom welcomes large numbers of students from all over the world to study at its educational institutions. The number of international students studying in the British system is increasing annually. The number of international schools choosing to follow derivatives of the National Curriculum for England is also rising.

Why is this?

British educational traditions are well established, having been developed over centuries. The ensuing system is closely monitored by the UK Government and guided by outstanding institutions such as the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge and by some of the UKs famous independent schools, such Eton, Harrow and Winchester.

British education is renowned for its holistic approach. Learning is important, but not enough in itself. In the British system, students develop their potential to explore and discover the world around them, to think for themselves, form opinions, relate to others, develop their physical wellbeing through sport and health education, and gain leadership experience. Parents who choose a British School that follows the English National Curriculum can therefore be sure that wherever they go in the world, the standards will be comparable to the UK, where Government monitoring of the curriculum guarantees quality. In a world where there is a bewildering array of schools teaching in English on the “international circuit”, the guarantee offered by a well developed national system is a source of confidence and stability in what might well be an unfamiliar environment.

As well as implementing the National Curriculum for England, assessments are based on national standards from the UK. Bloomsbury International School’s four house system and Extra Curricular Programme are both intrinsically British in nature. Our text books, educational equipment / materials and software are sourced from the UK. Classroom management, pedagogy, lesson planning, displays of work, the three term year and age related groups all follow best practice in education from the UK.


Bloomsbury International School Hatyai
2119 Moo 6, Airport-Lopburirames Road, Kuanlung, Hatyai, Songkhla 90110 Thailand
Tel. +66(0) 74 251 255 to 6
Fax. +66(0) 74 251 254